Yarra Valley Wine History

The Yarra Valley was Victoria's first wine growing region.

The first vines were planted in 1838, by the Ryrie Brothers, at Yering Station.

In 1863 Hubert de Castella established St. Huberts Vineyard and Guillame de Pury established Yeringberg.

Viticulture spread rapidly through the valley in the 1860s and 1870s.

Increased demand for fortified wine, as opposed to table wine, saw Yarra Valley wine production cease in 1921.

Replanting began in the 1960s.

In 1963 Wantirna Estate was established.

St Huberts was re-established in 1966 followed by Yeringberg in 1969

Yarra Yering was established in 1969 and Mount Mary in 1971.

In 1985 Coldstream Hills was established by wine writer James Halliday.

In 1986 Moet and Chandon established their Australian operations at Domaine Chandon.

In 1989 Yering Station, Victoria and the Yarra Valley’s first vineyard, was re-established.

In 2006 Innocent Bystander was established in Healesville.

The Yarra Valley is one of Australia's foremost cool climate wine regions with more than 80 wineries. Its climate is mid-way between those of two of France’s most famous wine regions, Burgundy and Bordeaux, hence its reputation for Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Cabernet.